Blueberry Cheesecake-Stuffed French Toast Casserole

This french toast is healthy and soooooooo good. The recipe is from the August/September 2011 issue of Clean Eating magazine.

 

 

 

 

Blueberry Cheesecake-Stuffed French Toast Casserole

13 to 14 slices whole-wheat bread, crusts removed
1 cup low-fat ricotta cheese
1/2 cup low fat plain cream cheese
4 large eggs
5 tablespoons evaporated cane juice, divided
1 3/4 cups fresh blueberries
1 cup low-fat milk
2 egg whites
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon  salt
1/4 cup unsalted almonds, sliced

Preheat over to 350 F. Coat a 9×13 inch baking pan with cooking spray. Place half of the bread in the bottom of the pan, trimming as necessary to fit in a snug single layer.

In a food processor or blender, combine ricotta, cream cheese, 1 whole egg and 2 tbsp cane juice. Process until smooth. Pour mixture over bread layer and spread to coat evenly. Top with blueberries. Cover with remaining bread, trimming to fit in a single layer.

In a large bowl, whisk remaining 3 whole eggs, 1 tbsp cane juice, milk, egg whites, vanilla, cinnamon and salt. Pour evenly over bread. Place almonds in a zip lock bag and lightly cursh with a rolling pin. Add remaining 2 tbsp cane juice and shake to combine. Sprinkle over bread. Cover with foil and bake in center of oven for 25 minutes. Uncover and bake for an additional 10 minutes, or until center is slightly puffed and set (filling will remain creamy). Then broil for 2 to 3 minutes until top is lightly browned. Remove from oven and let cool for 10 minutes.

One thought on “Blueberry Cheesecake-Stuffed French Toast Casserole

  1. This is one of my favs from CE magazine. I always seem to need the recipe when I don’t have the mag with me. (although, you’d think I know it by heart with how many times I’ve made it!) So when I found it on your site I was so happy! (I was out of town and wanted to bless my hosts) Thanks for having this online, now I don’t have to put it on my own blog to share it with my friends or simply to find it at a later date! Yummo!!

Leave a Reply

