Improved Chicken Tetrazzini

Ok, so I’ve been craving creamy, old school, stick to your ribs chicken tetrazzini. It breaks my heart to feed my loved ones a full on fat fest, but i didn’t really know how to get around it here. I replaced half the cream with 1% milk. The spaghetti was whole wheat. I sprayed the pan with olive oil instead of melting margarine. Chicken breast replaced the whole chicken. Yeah, I know, still not the healthiest, but so worth extra time on the elliptical. The recipe didn’t have cooking times. I cooked the tetrazzini in a glass 9×13 for 30 minutes at 350. Oh yeah, I also skimped on the suggested amount of chile powder. Just seemed a bit much.

Here’s the original recipe from Vintage Vicksburg page 195. My substitutions are in parenthesis.

 

 

 

 Chicken Tetrazzini

4 tablespoons margarine (sprayed pan with olive oil)
2 onions, chopped
1 bell pepper, chopped
1 (16 ounce) can tomatoes
4 tablespoons chile powder (2 tablespoons chile powder)
Salt to taste
Pepper to taste
3/4 cup sharp cheese, shredded
1 pint light cream (1 cup light cream, 1 cup 1 % milk)
pinch of soda
1 (4-5 lb) chicken (1 lb boneless skinless chicken breast)
1 (16 ounce) package of thin spaghetti (whole wheat spaghetti)

Saute margarine, onion and pepper. Add tomatoes and seasonings. cook slowly until sauce thickens; add cream with a pinch of soda cooking a little longer. Boil chicken, cool, and pull pieces from chicken. Butter a large casserole and line with part of the cooked spaghetti. Layer chicken, tomato sauce, more spaghetti. Continue until all sauce is used. Top with cheese.

3 thoughts on “Improved Chicken Tetrazzini

  1. This sounds sooo good…wish I lived closer tonight, so I could come over for dinner! But with all your “health worries” remind me to NEVER give you my competition chicken recipe ;o)

Leave a Reply

